Ryckmania

Adventures in Homeschooling, crafts and more

Hungry Spider Game

2 Comments

Today, to make work fun, we put together a ‘Hungry Spider Game’. I, in all honesty, did not expect much as little J is very hard to entertain, but he LOVED it! I really cannot make that ‘LOVE’ big enough! He had so much fun!

What I loved the most was how versatile it was. You can literally choose any topic or NO topic! You can do sight words, math problems, simple numbers, colors, shapes and even make it into a scavenger hunt!Β  We went with some 1st and 2nd grade sight words. I would shout out a word and he would quickly find the card and grab the ball to throw it.

DSC_0235

Here is a run down:

1- Place masking tap on a doorway to resemble a spider web (somewhat)

Image

2- Cut a spider out of construction paper and stick it on (This is optional, but Little J is very visual and I knew it would help! It really made the game that much better)

DSC_0240

3- Get some cotton balls or tissue paper balls (cotton will work better, especially for younger kids)

4- CRUCIAL STEP: Have fun πŸ™‚

DSC_0245

‘Oh I just almost had it!!’ He said every time he missed πŸ™‚

DSC_0241

Of course mama had a turn too, while Little J shouted the words. It was just as exciting!

Here he is clapping when one of my balls stuck!

DSC_0253

Try it out, i bet your children will love it just as much πŸ™‚

TIP – Definitely use cotton balls, ours didn’t stick every time!
I will next time! I will also try math problems next time or more challenging sight words, he seemed to have these down with ease.

Until next time my dears ❀

Author: ryckmania

I am a military wife & a mother of 2.

2 thoughts on “Hungry Spider Game

  1. What a great idea ! I need to try this with my boys. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

